Religious Education

'Spiritual, moral, social and cultural development Section 78 (1) of the 2002 Education Act states that all pupils should follow a balanced and broadly based curriculum which ‘promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, social, mental and physical development of pupils and of society, and prepares pupils for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life’. Learning about and from religions and beliefs, through the distinct knowledge, understanding and skills contained in RE within a broad-based curriculum, is essential to achieving these aims.'          Department for Education


At Shapla we follow the locally agreed syllabus written by the Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education (SACRE) in Tower Hamlets. This is a group of people who are chosen to represent a variety of faiths. Together they have determined a curriculum that is appropriate for children learning in Tower Hamlets.


Aims (SACRE)

Religious Education should enable pupils to:

  • Acquire and develop knowledge and understanding of Christianity and the other principal religions represented in the United Kingdom
  • Develop an understanding of the influence of beliefs, values and traditions on individuals, communities, societies and cultures
  • Develop the ability to make reasoned and informed judgements about religious and moral issues, with reference to the teachings of the principal religions represented in the United Kingdom
  • Enhance their spiritual, moral, social and cultural development by:
  • Developing awareness of the fundamental questions of life raised by human experiences, and of how religious teachings can relate to them
  • Responding to such questions with reference to the teachings and practices of religions and other belief systems, relating them to their own understanding and experience
  • Reflecting on their own beliefs, values and experiences in the light of their study
  • Develop positive attitudes of respect towards other people who hold views and beliefs different from their own, and towards living in a society of diverse religions.



Programmes of Study

                Foundation Stage / Reception Christianity and Islam and religious experiences represented in the class or school
Key Stage 1

Christianity, Islam, Judaism and religious experience represented in the class or school plus a secular world view, where appropriate

Key Stage 2

Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism and Sikhism. The syllabus guidance recommends

  • the teaching of Christianity and Islam across the key stage
  • Hindu dharma and Judaism in Years 3-4
  • Buddhism and Sikhism in Years 5-6
  • a secular world view where appropriate